Fareed’s Family on new Paper

Fun project here, I was commissioned to do a piece containing four names, siblings, to be presented as a gift at a family function.

He said he wanted the tashkeel in a customized blue-green ink. I mixed some colors in an inkwell and sent him this:

P1120492

I came up with this:

1SM

I did it with a 1/4″ bamboo pen, in all black. Then I edited it to what it would look like with the dyed background and custom ink.

I wanted to try this new paper, so I built a massive dying tray out of birch plywood, 3ftx4ft wide, then lacquered the entire thing with polyester resin, and dumped 6 gallons of Indian black tea in and dyed a couple of 18×35 inch sheets of white paper until they were a warm cream. IMG_1258

Then, using an Ikea piece of desk glass as a makeshift light table to transfer my small drawing to a large paper, I did the final piece:

P1120541

Before ink corrections:

2

Done.

1Done

http://www.arabiccalligrapher.com/styles/

~ by Josh on June 12, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
