Nowruz at the Freer|Sackler

Fatema Abbas3

First off, Nowruz mobarak ve shirin ve piruz, belated as it may be. This year I was very honored to be able to take part in the Smithsonian’s massive festivities (to the tune of 12,000 attendees in one day). I did calligraphy for guests in a variety of styles, traditional and contemporary. This is the third time I’ve worked with the Smithsonian and it is such a wonderful fun time each time. I’m always exhausted by the end, but I love talking to the guests about calligraphy and watching their expressions as I create their piece with multiple colors of ink and various sizes of pen.

64299_10151484979318788_2040645421_n

It’s funny, in Persian there is an expression, a very common ta’aruf- دست تان درد نکنه- which translates literally as “may your hands not hurt” but in practical usage means ‘thank you so much [for the effort you put into x]’ and many of the guests would say this to me after I did their names, not really considering the literal meaning of the words, and when I would reply “!نه, جانم, میکنه” it would get a laugh.

~ by Josh on April 10, 2013.

One Response to “Nowruz at the Freer|Sackler”

  1. Nawroz Mubarak Josh 🙂 You have an amazing talent, and I’ve loved looking through your blog. I was wondering if the Dari t-shirt design you posted up a while back was up for purchase? Or would you consider putting it up for purchase? I think it’s beautiful, and I’m sure many others would love to buy it. Hope you address this in your next post. Tashakur!

Leave a Reply

 
