The Holstee Hamsa

Mock Up 7

I’m extremely honored to have been asked to participate in a remarkable project for a great company out of NYC, Holstee. Their foundational project was a manifesto outlining a guide to a happy life. They wanted to render the manifesto in both Hebrew and Arabic, and after some back and forth, we decided on the shape of the Hamsa. We thought that the idea of a shared symbol of good luck and protection that is shared throughout the Middle East would work really well to physically manifest in calligraphy.

I used an underlay of a hamsa to create the lines of text, photographed each piece individually, and then assembled it all together on the computer.

P1110496

The whole process took around 30 hours. I did the whole outline in Diwani, but didn’t like the pen size I used, so I decided to redo it with a smaller pen, which I think came out way better.

FinalsmWhen it was all done, I sent the file over to Holstee, whose incredibly talented design team added the color and pattern, and the whole thing was then sent to a letterpress studio to be printed as posters.

photo 4

photo 2

~ by Josh on March 31, 2013.

5 Responses to “The Holstee Hamsa”

  1. Amazing! Awesome work, Josh!

  2. Love it !!!
    🙂 🙂 🙂

  3. […] few days ago I wrote about the Holstee Hamsa project I worked on. Here is a short video I shot about the project and my thoughts on the impossible […]

  4. Your work is truly beautiful. I love this piece especially because it has both Hebrew and Arabic. I am a native Arabic speaker and I just took up calligraphy- if you have any tips for me that would be great =D. Keep up the awesome work!

  5. This is amazing work. I’ve been scouring the internet looking for something exactly like this for 7 years. The use of Hebrew and Arabic for this shared symbol has a lot of meaning to me personally and would like to use the design for a personal project of mine. Would love to chat more about this.

Leave a Reply

 
