Dari, Uzbek, and Uyghur T-Shirts

I’ve been in SWSEEL, the Summer Workshop in Slavic, East European and Central Asian Languages here at Indiana University for the past few weeks, partially explaining the lull in posts. I’m doing second-year Dari, or Afghan Persian. It’s a wonderful class taught by an amazing professor.

As part of SWSEEL every year there is a t-shirt competition. Both this year and last (when I was doing Uzbek) I worked with an incredibly talented artist, Connor Sweeney, to design the shirts. Connor was in Uzbek with me last summer, Uyghur this summer, so we designed three tshirts this year: Uzbek, Dari, and Uyghur. Each of them features a proverb in that language written in calligraphy, and a drawing done by Connor of an architectural monument inside the outline of that country (Uzbekistan, Afghanistan, and Xinjiang, China, respectively).

Here are the designs we put together:

The Dari shirt features the Mazar-i Sharif shrine of Ali and a quote from the Shahname that reads, “Thy source of might is knowledge, for learning makes old hearts grow young again.”

The Uyghur shirt shows the Emin Minaret in Turpan, Xinjiang and the proverb reads “Better to be the sole of a shoe in your homeland than a king abroad.”

The Uzbek shirt features the Mir-i Arab madrasah in Bukhara and the quote reads, in the three alphabets Uzbek is written in, “Power is in Justice – Amir Temur.”

~ by Josh on July 10, 2011.

7 Responses to “Dari, Uzbek, and Uyghur T-Shirts”

  1. How can I get one?

  2. I’d also love to order some of these if possible!

  3. Josh, these are beautiful designs. At the risk of being that guy who wears shirt for events/programs he’s never been to, I echo the desires of your other posters. Perhaps if the program doesn’t want to distribute shirts outside those associated with it you can have some made yourself and sell to your fans?

  4. Thanks Josh! Just saw this.

  5. Yeah, I totally agree with the guys above. I’m half uzbek and half turkistani (uyghur), and would love to have one of these, I’ve actually been searching for something like this for a while now, but this is truly beautiful. I’d love it if I could get one to show my grandparents :D.

  6. Hello, the English translation of those Uyghur words are completely wrong. The correct one is: “It is better living only one day like a tiger (symbol of braveness) than living 100 years like a rabbit (symbol of cowardness).

    • Hi!
      Thanks for that correction! So, that quote actually came out of CELCAR’s Uyghur textbook. I wasn’t actually in that class, (hech uighurcha gapira olmayman) the class just asked me to do the calligraphy for the shirt. I’ll shoot an email to the team at celcar to have a look at that, good look out!!

Leave a Reply

 
