Is God Not Enough?

I get a lot of inquiries about commissioning an original piece of Arabic calligraphy. I thought I’d post something about the process of how I go about creating these pieces. This was an original commission I did for a client in the UK a few days ago. The quote was from the Qur’an, Surah Al-Zumar [39:37] “Is God not sufficient for His servant?”

أَلَيْسَ اللَّهُ بِكَافٍ عَبْدَهُ

The piece was to be a large (28″x20″) figural piece with red highlights. The paper I used was a wonderful cream colored paper with a slight luminescence to it. First I laid out  the design on normal 8.5×11 paper:

Once I had the basic design that I would use, I had to figure out which pen to use to do such a large piece.

I experimented a couple of different times with the different pens, finally landing on the middle one.

Then I did it again, but in final, good copy mode, taking more time to make each stroke so the letters came out darker and sharper.

Then I added the dots in red:

And finally the short vowels:

Done.

If you’re interested in getting a piece done, you can write to me at arabic.calligrapher(at)gmail(dot)com, and I’ll get back to you regarding the specifics of your piece! You can also check out some of the styles I work in at my other site, http://www.arabiccalligrapher.com/

~ by Josh on April 18, 2011.

One Response to “Is God Not Enough?”

  1. Josh – you’re truly talented. The final piece looked amazing, and even more so once we had it framed. Very interesting to see your process. I know it’s been a while, but I’ll get a picture of the final piece hanging on the wall 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
