The Celi Pen

In this second video in my series on materials used for Arabic and Islamic calligraphy, today I’m showcasing the Celi (Jali) pen. The Celi pen is the traditional tool for large-scale writing in Arabic and Islamic calligraphy.  It is made from a wide section of bamboo, with long grooves cut in the nib of the pen to hold ink. This would be the pen used in the writing of utilitarian banners or posters traditionally, or could be cut down to a smaller width for large-size levhas, calligraphic pieces.

The Celi pen is the traditional tool for large-scale writing in Arabic and Islamic calligraphy.

It is made from a wide section of bamboo, with long grooves cut in the nib of the pen to hold ink.

~ by Josh on January 9, 2011.

2 Responses to “The Celi Pen”

  1. here’s a set of photos concerning Qashqai/tribal people of southern Iran. thought they might be interesting and useful to you
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/8213617@N08/486355558/
    keep up the good work on your arabic calligraphy.
    you inspired me and i learnt from your videos. thank you. very interesting and neat blog.
    and may i suggest to you to start reading Rene Guenon’s works if you haven’t already. begin with crisis of modern world, move to reign of quantity, and on you go. insights into islamic esoterism and symbols of sacred science are also of particular note for your use.
    Regards.

  2. I have to start with saying – with all do respect, your artwork is extremely beautiful.

    My name is Hannah and I live in Sweden. I have been searching for somebody in my area who masters arabic calligraphy for quite some time now. This is the reason..

    If isn’t too much trouble, could you design a calligraphy of a phrase for me? “أبــي ,أنْعِــــــمْ بذاك أبا” The phrase is dedicated to my father, I have a huge will to honor him. I’m planning to make it a tattoo (preferably behind the ear, but if it gets too big, I can choose somewhere else) I would be extremely grateful. Otherwise, I apologize for my wrong impression of your website.
    Thanks in advance.
    Hannah.

Leave a Reply

 
