This is By The Grace of My Lord

This is a video of me writing on the papers I dyed in the previous post with lamp black ink I also made by hand. As you can see in the video, the pen moves nicely across the page, the paper doesn’t absorb the ink too fast, and the result is a nice, warm piece of calligraphy. This says:

هذا من فضل ربي

This is By The Grace of My Lord

~ by Josh on July 20, 2010.

8 Responses to “This is By The Grace of My Lord”

  1. …and with the Light of Abraham from Bloomington to Astrakhan.

    Beautiful my friend!
    Would of loved to seen a close up of the final work at the end.
    You should start a gallery of all your work somewhere.
    This is a great example of one I like (http://www.hajinoordeen.com/gallery.html).

  2. What are those “v”s? Those a new a letter to me.

  3. Can I buy parchment and arabic quills from you?? I have been looking everywhere to buy them..OR where can I find bamboo sticks from?!
    Please let me know!

  4. What’s the significance of the three dots above ف ?

  5. Josh this was really nice watchin you rock this piece from top to bottom. your desk set up is beautiful. great work surface and good balance of your inks, qallam and brushes. You are set!

  6. This is…amazing! I’m glad I stumbled across your blog. 🙂

  7. How lovely!
    I would be very grateful if you can tell me where to acquire some Arabic calligraphy pens. I am so frustrated with having to use felt tip markers. Thank you and God bless.

Leave a Reply

 
