Purest Expression of Freedom

A few months ago I was contacted by a gentleman who was interested in having a piece of calligraphy commissioned as a gift for a Lebanese friend. He wanted a particular phrase written in the shape of the cedar of Lebanon.

It took me literally weeks to figure out. I had some very lovely paper, with a semi-luminescent finish to it, but I knew that I would screw up the piece hundreds of times before I got the shape right.

I printed out a silhouette of the cedar’s shape and made a stencil to work from. I traced the outline on to crummy paper and went about figuring out how to make the words best fit in.  At the time I was working on it, my flat was being re-plastered, which created a huge amount of dust. I left the stencil on top of some shelves, and when I moved it I found the pattern in dust.

I after I had figured out the arrangement I wanted to use, it was just a matter of writing it out. I did it once, and screwed up the last word, of course. Got it the second time, though.

Almost there…

Done!

~ by Josh on May 20, 2010.

3 Responses to “Purest Expression of Freedom”

  1. I think you’re wonderful. Please don’t stop doing what you do.

  2. What does this phrase say? cause i love the design

Leave a Reply

 
