Julia Strecher, 1990 – 2010

We miss you so much Julia. May your memory be a blessing.

Julia Strecher passed away on March 2nd while on vacation in the Dominican Republic. She was 19. Julia was finishing her first year at the University of Michigan School of Nursing. She was driven by a profound desire to help others, having lived an extraordinary life, one defined by her survival in the face of the most dire of prognoses.

She is survived by her parents, Victor and Jeri, her sister Rachael and her devoted dog Fred. Our home at 1614 Granger Ave will be open to guests from 4:00 pm to 8:00 pm today (March 4), Friday, and Saturday.  All those who wish to share memories of Julia are welcome to come and speak.

A memorial service will be held at 2:00 pm, Sunday afternoon, March 7, at Temple Beth Emeth, 2309 Packard. All are welcome.

“It’s always amazing to me to hear that someone thinks i’m strong because I feel like the only thing I’m doing is trying to live my life. As I see it, challenges are a part of life for every individual. If conquering those challenges day by day makes a person strong, than a lot more people aren’t getting credit. The only reason I keep my head above water is because I have a goal in life that I am determined to reach. I am also fortunate enough to have people around me that care enough to love and support me. I will always live for these people because I know how much they have lived for me.”

-Julia

“It’s always amazing to me to hear that someone
thinks i’m strong because I feel like the only thing i’m doing is
trying to live my life. As I see it, challenges are a part of life for
every individual. If conquering those challenges day by day makes a
person strong, than a lot more people aren’t getting credit. The only
reason I keep my head above water is because I have a goal in life that
I am determined to reach. I am also fortunate enough to have people
around me that care enough to love and support me. I will always live
for these people because I know how much they have lived for me.

~ by Josh on March 3, 2010.

14 Responses to “Julia Strecher, 1990 – 2010”

  1. She is missed dearly. Thank you for posting this.

  2. I love you so much julia, and i miss you more than anything. I know I’m not alone in this respect you meant so much to so many, and your life, that was definitely odd and quirky, intertwined with mine and I have never felt so happy in my life. Thank you for everything you have given me.
    I LOVE YOU

  3. I never was able to meet Julia, but I know many of her friends. She sounded like an inspiring angel and so brave. It’s terrible that she wasn’t able to grow and spread her love even more, although I know that she is okay now. My deepest thoughts and prayers are with the Strecher family, I hope you feel her with you every day. Be strong and know that you are loved.

  4. much much love to you, rachael, jeri and vic from your old friend sal from durham. my arms are around you now.

  5. Our hearts are breaking, and our thoughts and prayers are with you, Rachel, Vic and Jeri
    peace and love to you

  6. Dearest Vic, Jeri, and Rachael, may the love that surrounded Julia be a blanket of comfort to you now in this time of terrible sadness. You are in our hearts. Much love to you.

  7. Jeri, Vic and Rachel our thoughts and prayers are with you. It is evident that Julia felt loved and supported by you while on this Earth. Know that Julia has returned to her full magnificence as spirit and is wanting you to feel the love and gratitude she has for all of you. Much love from our family to yours.

  8. Every time I saw the beautiful photos of Julia’s family together, I could just feel the love among them. Julia has always served as a reminder to appreciate every moment that we have with each other. She brought joy, beauty, insight, and inspiration to us all. She will be in our hearts forever. Peace and love.

  9. Dearest Cousin Vic, Jeri, and Rachael, In your sadness, we hope your hearts and souls find peace and comfort in feeling the magnitude of light that Julia spread in 19 years. She touched so many lives, many unknown, in many different ways, and in many different lands. We want you to know that our hearts and prayers are with you. Love to each of you.

  10. Dear Vic, Jeri, and Rachael, may you find strength to persevere through the coming days, and with time, comfort and peace in your hearts.

  11. God bless.

  12. Julia was a truly inspirational friend, and I’ll never forget the time we spent together.
    Miss you dearly. Love always.

  13. May she rest in peace… “inna lillah ya inna 2ilayhi raaji3oon”

  14. […] an almost lifelong patient. She was a student at the University of Michigan School of Nursing. The picture of Julia on a memorial website is ethereally beautiful and so suffused with life and joy that it is almost inconceivable to […]

Leave a Reply

 
