Istanbul Again

I’m back in one of my favorite cities in the world. I really can’t express how wonderful being here is, so full of life, culture, vibrancy and beauty. Living in Beer Sheva, bustling metropolitan cultural hub that it is, really made me miss being in a city, a real city, with real life happening.  In Beer Sheva I felt like the old gomer sitting on his rocking chair as the tumbleweeds roll by. Only by tumbleweeds I mean old Russians who were beginning to resemble potatoes.

Either way, I am very happy to be gone, and have returned to Istanbul for an extended stay, and what will be the first leg of a year-long multiple-country sojourn. In Istanbul I will be learning and practicing Arabic calligraphy, as this city is the capital of the calligraphy world, and has been for several centuries. I will also be re-learning the Turkish I have spent the past 4 years forgetting.

cards

My apartment is in Cihangar, one of my favorite Istanbul neighborhoods, and has a gorgeous rooftop terrace with a view of the Sea of Marmara.

13

14

20

~ by Josh on July 10, 2009.

One Response to “Istanbul Again”

  1. How long will you be staying there for?

Leave a Reply

 
