Last Day at the RCUV

I can’t believe it’s over. My 10-month Shatil Social Justice Fellowship has come to an end, and it is now time for me to move on. I spent the year working at the Regional Council of Unrecognized Bedouin Villages, the elected representatives of the 76,000 Bedouin living in 45 unrecognized villages.

I had an amazing, fun, interesting, and challenging year, and I won’t forget the friendships I made within the Bedouin community, nor the things I learned from them.

Suleiman, Ye’ela, Atwa, Ali, Faisal, Said, Hussein, and Ibrahim, I will really miss you guys, and I wish you nothing but the best. B’Tawfiq.

On my last day, Suleiman and Ye’ela organized a picnic barbeque out in the woods at a beautiful spot overlooking Rahat and Beer Sheva. It was a perfect send off, and really made me sad to be leaving.

6Hussein al-Rafaya (former president of the council), Ali Abu Sheheita (at whose home I taught English), and Atia al-Athameen (from the village of Khashm Zanna).

15

Atia.

8Salman Bin Hmed (At whose home I also taught English) and Atwa Abu Freih (general director of the council)

22

Suleiman Abu Obeid.

20

1

Hussein, Atia, and Ye’ela Raanan (public affairs spokewoman for the council)

24

I’ll miss you guys, ya ashabi.

~ by Josh on June 27, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
