Haneen’s Fashion Show

On Thursday, February 26th, my friend Haneen Ahmad had her second fashion show in Seattle, showcasing the amazing line of clothing she has been working on for the past few months. Her website can be seen here.

Among the works she was showing were t-shirts with a Mahmoud Darwish quote I designed for her.

n10723361_42077978_6817694

Haneen is second from the right.

n10723361_42077954_5628993

n10723361_42077985_4650752

Hipsters rocking my calligraphy!

sajal

It says “Record! I am Arab!” and is taken from the first lines of Darwish’s famous poem “Identity Card“.

She works with kuffiyas (also known as hatta, shemagh, or mandil), traditionally patterned scarves worn in Arab countries, and fashions them into jackets, ties, skirts, and shirts. It is often difficult to find anything but red-and-white checked or black-and-white checked kuffiyas, except in Yemen, where one can find every color combination possible.  When coming back from Yemen, I brought her a whopping 200 kuffiyas with me. Before I came home, I layed them out on the floor of our mufraj. It was a sight to behold.

img_4517img_4528img_4531

In June, I went up to visit Seattle and Haneen and we put the Mahmoud Darwish quote onto a silk-screen together.

dscf0986

identity-card-blackidentity-card-pink5dscf0985

Amazing work Haneen, I’m rooting for you all the way from here!

~ by Josh on March 5, 2009.

3 Responses to “Haneen’s Fashion Show”

  1. Hi Josh – I tried to see Haneen’s website and it was empty for me – I’m going to Seattle next week for work, and would love to check out her work, and maybe get a gift (one of your shirts perhaps?) for my boyfriend. Can you send me her email address, or give her mine if she doesn’t want to give hers out? I’d love to connect with her when I’m there.
    Thanks!
    Harmony

  2. thanks for this post josh! the email addy i use is INFO@kuffiya.com 🙂

  3. I just love the red and white blazer in this picture third from left. I’d love to have a better picture of it to share to pinterest henni_ahvenlampi @ hotmail..com

Leave a Reply

 
