The Lure of the East

I went to a museum opening here in Istanbul last night of a show called The Lure of the East: British Orientalist Painting. It was a gorgeous show, and I especially loved it since I have a minor obsession with orientalists and their dress-up ways, but I was really surprised to find the following painting, it’s called Edfou, Upper Egypt, and was painted by John Fredrick Lewis in 1860, and it’s half the header of my blog.

lewis

~ by Josh on November 27, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
