Back in Istanbul

galata
This is among the greatest cities in the world. I am so happy to be here, it is a much needed break from Beer Sheva and the unrecognized villages. Not that I don’t love my life, but sometimes screaming at the top of your lungs about something you personally can do nothing about needs to take a back seat to a cold glass of raki and some batter-fried fish. This is also the calligraphy capital of the world, and has been for 200 years, so that also provides a nice change from the cultural wasteland that is Beer Sheva.

lokanta

I’m meeting some very interesting people, despite the fact that 3 years of not speaking what little I knew has taken a serious toll on my Turkish. I am finding that it comes back relatively quickly. It’s a wonderfully easy language to learn, and Turks are among the warmest people in the world. Did I mention I love it here?

raki

~ by Josh on November 26, 2008.

2 Responses to “Back in Istanbul”

  1. I’m taking exception to “the cultural wasteland that is Beer Sheva.” This is the Gateway to the South, the beating heart of the many prosperous and pastoral hamlets in the promising Negev. This is also the regional hub for Indian food, sushi, and outsized shopping malls. Cultural wasteland? Feh!

  2. Daniella,

    Shake the sand out of your brain.

    Also, enjoy your little Russia.

Leave a Reply

 
