Bird’s Nest On My Balcony

I moved to Beer Sheva, in the south of Israel, last week. My apartment is fairly normal for Beer Sheva: in a housing project thats 70% Russian and 25% Ethiopian. I like Ethiopians. I discovered today that a family of pigeons calls my balcony home, and is raising a family. While bird shit all over my balcony is not high on my list of favorite things, a solitary egg in a makeshift nest on the floor is rather tender, and I just can’t bring myself to turn it into pigeon-egg salad. Also, that sounds gross.

Such charm.

~ by Josh on October 1, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
