The Calligraphy Lesson

For the past few weeks I’ve been staying in Jerusalem. The compound I’m living in is right inside the Old City, in the Christian Quarter. The family next door to us has 3 boys and they are the cutest thing I’ve ever seen. One day I saw the youngest one, Rami, practicing how to write his name, so showed him how I used a pen and ink to write in Arabic. A couple of days later they asked for a calligraphy lesson and I was happy to oblige. Photos by Rachael Strecher.

Rami

~ by Josh on September 19, 2008.

One Response to “The Calligraphy Lesson”

  1. Dear Josh,

    I admire your blog, and am especially moved by these photographs – being a poet, language teacher, and “cacographer” at times… I’d like to ask you whether I could quote one of these pictures as well as your blog on my site… Could you e-mail me when you have the time? I wish you more of what you have, so plentifully: health, wisdom, and joy!

    Michel

    leclerc.michel@skynet.be

Leave a Reply

 
