Making Paper with Floral Borders

I’ve been working on handmaking paper lately, and I wanted to experiment with the idea of inlaying flowers into the border of the paper to create a built-in border for wedding contracts, home blessings, or other such calligraphy projects. The fiber I used was abaca and flax. I did it at Pyramid Atlantic, which is the most amazing arts center I’ve ever seen. Basically, I pull one sheet and lay it down, then arrange the flowers, then couch another sheet on top. The flowers are embedded between them, and then it’s put into a hydraulic press, and dryed under moderate pressure over a week.

IMG_2099 IMG_2102 IMG_2103

IMG_2107 IMG_2108 IMG_2109 - Copy

IMG_2111 IMG_2112 - CopyIMG_2113

IMG_2116IMG_2117

When they come out, they’re nice, though I was expecting more shine through. I can either leave it as relief, or watercolor it at this point.

DSC01520 DSC01521

DSC01522 DSC01523

DSC01524 DSC01525DSC01529

~ by Josh on December 12, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 179 other followers

